Argentina,Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay Launch Joint Bid To Host 2030 World Cup –

Argentina,Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay Launch Joint Bid To Host 2030 World Cup –

Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay have launched a joint bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

The CONMEBOL Nations are aiming to bring the quadrennial tournament ‘home’ as Uruguay hosted and won the very first edition of the World Cup in 1930.

Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 in the final of the 1930 World Cup at the Montevideo’s Estadio Centenario.

CONMEBOL President Alejandro Dominguez suggested it was time to bring the event back to South America.

“There will be more World Cups, but the World Cup only turns 100 one time and it needs to come home,” Dominguez said.

Chile and Argentina also hosted the World Cup in 1962 and 1978 respectively.

Read Also:Firmino: Liverpool Going For Quadruple Next Season

The European duo of Spain and Portugal have already declared their intentions to host the 2030 World Cup.

The United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland have rescinded their decision to bid for the hosting rights of aforementioned tournament and have diverted their attention to bidding for the 2028 European Championship.

The North American trio of the United States of America,Canada and Mexico will be joint hosts of the 2026 World Cup.

Argentina have won the World Cup twice,in Argentina 78 and Mexico 86 while Uruguay have also won it twice in 1930 and 1950.

Uruguay hosted the tournament in 1930 and Brazil hosted in 1950.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is set to be held in Qatar between November 21 and December 18.

Copyright © 2021 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of

About Adeboye Amosu

Source: Complete Sports

#ArgentinaChile #Uruguay #Paraguay #Launch #Joint #Bid #Host #World #Cup

Post views in last 5 minutes: 3 views


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply