UEFA, EPL condemn breakaway clubs

UEFA, EPL condemn breakaway clubs

UEFA and the Premier League have strongly condemned 12 major European clubs, including the ‘big six’ from England, signing up to a breakaway European Super League.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham are part of the group.

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard lifts the trophy surrounded by celebrating team-mates after their 2005 UEFA Champions League Final victory over AC Milan.

La Liga’s Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid and Serie A’s AC Milan, Inter Milan and Juventus are involved.

UEFA said it will use “all measures” possible to stop the “cynical project”.

Senior figures at European football’s governing body are furious about the proposals.

None of the clubs involved have commented yet but it is thought a statement is likely to be released later last night.

BBC Sport was told last week of plans for some sort of confirmation about a European Super League.

UEFA had hoped to head off plans with a new-look 36-team Champions League set to be confirmed on Monday.







Source: Sports – Latest Nigeria News, Nigerian Newspapers, Politics

#UEFA #EPL #condemn #breakaway #clubs

Post views in last 5 minutes: [jp_post_view]


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply